19th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) now accepting applications

The Mindanao Creative Writers Group, Inc., and the Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology’s Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Extension (OVCRE) are accepting applications from writers to the 19th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) to be held on May 14-18, 2012 in Iligan City.

Panelists this year are Erlinda Kintanar Alburo, Leoncio P. Deriada, Merlie M. Alunan, German V. Gervacio, Steven Patrick C. Fernandez, Ralph Semino Galan, J. Neil Garcia, John Iremil Teodoro and Christine Godinez-Ortega and this year’s keynote speaker, Victor N. Sugbo.

Fifteen (15) slots, five each from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao and one (1) slot each for the Manuel T. Buenafe Writing Fellowship (MTBWF) and the Ricardo Jorge S. Caluen Bursary for Creative Writing or a total of 17 slots are available for writing fellowships to the 19th INWW.

Applicants are required to submit five poems, or, one short story, excerpt of a novel, or, a one-act play in Filipino, English or in Sebuano, Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Waray, Chabacano (with English or Filipino translations) along with the applicant’s biodata, two 2X2 photos and a certification that his/her work is original. Please submit a hard copy and a CD with the manuscripts encoded in MS Word. Those submitting excerpts of novels or works-in-progress — please provide a one page summary of the novel. Unpublished works are preferred and applicants who have attended regional workshops are given priority.

Writing fellows will be given free board and lodging and a travel allowance. Applications must be postmarked on or before March 30, 2012. No applications or manuscripts will be accepted if sent by fax or e-mail. Applicants are also advised to keep copies of their manuscripts since these will not be returned. Announcements of this year’s writing fellows are released during the third week of April 2012.

Applicants to this year’s workshop may download application and other forms athttp://www.msuiit.edu.ph/research-extension/downloads.php.

Send all applications to the 19th INWW Director c/o OVCRE, MSU-IIT, Iligan City. For more information call Pat Cruz, Leda Gonzales or Ofelia Taneo at
telefax (063) 2232343; or e-mail: inww_ovcremsuiit@yahoo.com

Guidelines for Applicants

Application Form

Submit filled up application form. Download form at:

Qualification requirements
An applicant shall have attended a local or regional workshop before joining the INWW but this may be waived by the evaluators in meritorious cases.
Applicants should submit any one of the following [or one genre per applicant]:
Poetry – 5 poems
Short Story – one short story of not more than 30 pages, double spaced on regular bond paper
Play – one, one act play
Novel – one chapter of a novel or novel-in-progress. This must be accompanied by a background and a summary of the novel.
Entries should be encoded in Word Document, Arial, font 11, 1.5 space between lines on regular sized bond paper.
Entries accepted are: English, Filipino and in the regional languages – Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Sebuano, Waray, Chabacano. Translations in English should also be submitted with the manuscripts in their original languages.
One hard copy and a soft copy in CD [Word Document] of each entry are submitted with the application form and cover letter.
Address cover letter to:

The Director
19th Iligan National Writers Workshop
c/o Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research & Extension
MSU-IIT, Iligan City
Tel. (063) 2232343

Contact Pat Cruz or Leda Gonzales or Ofelia Taneo

Deadline for all submissions: March 30, 2012
Qualified applicants will be notified by the INWW Director by 3rd week of April 2012.
For other queries or details

Please call Pat Cruz, MSU-IIT, OVCRE, tel (063) 2232343

Leave a Reply 0

Your email address will not be published.