11th Ateneo National Writers Workshop fellows named

The Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP) announces its fellows for the 11th Ateneo National Writers Workshop which will be held on May 21-25, 2012 at the Ateneo de Manila University campus in Loyola Heights, Quezon City.

After a rigorous selection process, fifteen applicants were accepted this year from all over the country. For Short Story: Kareen Kristeen Valmoria Bughaw (Cebu City), Al Gerard de la Cruz (Cagayan de Oro City), Early Sol A. Gadong (Iloilo City), Rowena Rose M. Lee (Davao City), and Eric John Betita Villena (Cagayan de Oro City). For Poetry: Miro Frances Dimaano Capili (Makati City), Isabela Kristiana E. Cuerva (Marikina City), and Nolin Adrian de Pedro (Quezon City). For Maikling Kuwento: Jesus Catigan Insilada (Calinog, Iloilo), Ricky C. Ornopia (Marikina City), and Julz E. Riddle (Quezon City). For Tula: Nicko R. Caluya (Quezon City), Joseph Immanuel G. Casimiro (Taytay, Rizal), Paolo Miguel G. Tiausas (Pasig City), and Om Narayan A. Velasco (Baguio City).

This year’s panelists include respected writers like Alexis Abola, Mikael de Lara Co, Kristian Cordero, Michael M. Coroza, Allan N. Derain, J. Pilapil Jacobo, Marco A.V. Lopez, Allan Popa, DM Reyes, Jun Cruz Reyes, Danton Remoto, Edgar Calabia Samar, Benilda S. Santos, Vincenz Serrano and Alvin B. Yapan. This workshop is made possible by the support of the National Commission on Culture and the Arts (NCCA), and in cooperation with Heights: The Official Literary and Artistic Publication and Organization of the Ateneo de Manila University.

For inquiries please contact workshop coordinator Mitch Cerda at 426 6001 local 5320-21 or via email at ccerda@ateneo.edu.